Team Associated's Carl Renezeder and Kyle LeDuc Win Big in AZ!

Team Associated's Carl Renezeder and Kyle LeDuc Win Big in AZ!

October 31, 2012

Event Name: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series
Event Location: Firebird Raceway Chandler AZ
Event Date(s): October 27, 2012 to October 28, 2012

The 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series headed to Chandler AZ and Firebird Raceway for the final weekend of the 2012 season. The Pro 2 and Pro 4 championships were still up for grabs and it would come down to the final race in each class to determine the 2012 class champions.

Lucas Oil threw some twists at the drivers with changes to the track that would result in multiple racing line options, tighter passing zones, and larger jumps. Mother Nature tossed in a curveball as well with high winds that caused the track to dry out very quickly and visibility became limited as dust filled the track. By the time qualifying came around, it seemed that the drivers had figured out the new lines on the track and were ready to get busy. When qualifying concluded, Team Associated drivers Carl Renezeder and Casey Currie posted the fast times in the Pro-4 and Pro-Lite classes.

Saturday's racing started after opening ceremonies with Team Associated driver Kyle LeDuc looking to lockup the Pro 4 championship. Kyle headed into the last race of the series with a slim 16 point lead over his brother Todd. When the green flag came out, Kyle played it smart knowing he only needed to finish in order to be crowned the 2012 L.O.O.R.R.S. Pro 4 Champion. Team Associated Pro 4 driver Eric Barron started at the front of the pack and began to pull a large lead over Carl Renezeder and Todd LeDuc. Eric's lead began to dissolve when the competition yellow can out and bunched the pack back together. When the flagman turned them loose for the second half of the race, Carl and Todd made a run on Eric. Going down the backstretch, Eric was passed by Carl and was landed on when he drifted in front of Todd after and awkward landing. Eric was still able to continue racing, but started to fall back. After keeping his nose clean for much of the race, it looked like Kyle had found another gear and started picking guys off one by one. Carl and Todd however were putting on a great show out front. Todd stayed close to Carl but, was unable to get by. Carl brought home the win with Todd in a close second, and by this time Kyle Leduc made his way through the pack and with a pass on the last lap he would take third place. The 16 point spread leading into the last round of racing didn't reflect the dominating performance Kyle had shown by starting off the season with six consecutive wins. Team Associated Pro 4 drivers Kyle LeDuc, Carl Renezeder, and Eric Barron won all but 1 round of the 2012 season!

Pro-Lites took to the track next and with the class title already settled, there was nothing to lose for the other racers. Team Associated driver Casey Currie started in the third row after drawing a six truck inversion from his top qualifying position. Casey started working his way through the field making it up to third behind class champion RJ Anderson and Brian Deegan. Casey and RJ were battening hard when mechanical issues plagued RJ causing him to drop out of the race. Casey claimed the second position and was looking to chase down Deegan. The two drivers battled for several laps, but Deegan didn't give Casey an opening allowing him to hold on for the win. Casey took home the second place finish from Deegan's heels, and youngster Bradley Morris rounding out the podium.

The 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series points battles were now over but, the teams were not headed home just yet, as it was now time to prep the vehicles for Sunday's "Challenge Cup Race" which would pair Pro Lite's against the Pro-Buggies and Pro 4s against Pro 2s. Not only were there bragging rights at stake, but also a huge purse across all classes that Lucas Oil put up. The main attraction would be the Pro 4 versus Pro 2 class with a field of 24 trucks all racing to win $30,000, the action would prove to be intense. Starting positions were decided by inverting the top ten in points, with those outside the top ten filling in as the points stood after the last round of the series. Because of the faster lap times of the Pro 4s, Lucas Oil would start the group of Pro 4s a half of a lap behind the field of Pro 2s in an effort to even the playing field.

Team Associated driver Robby Woods started out front with the field with 23 drivers behind him looking to take it away. After several laps, a full course caution was brought out due to a crash outside of turn two. When racing got back under way, the gap between the Pro 4s and Pro 2s had been erased and the faster Pro 4s looked to make their way to the front. Carl Renezeder ran his Pro 4, which seemed to pay off as he made his way through the pack followed closely by newly crowned Pro 4 Champion Kyle LeDuc. Carl then rocketed into the lead down the backstretch and looked to be the only driver to repeat as winner of the Lucas Oil Challenge Cup. The Competition yellow came out and it was Carl out front, followed by MacCachren, and Kyle LeDuc. On the restart, Kyle was able to drive below MaCachren taking the second position from him to then set his sights on catching Renezeder. Kyle was able to catch up to Carl and made a move for the lead. The pass stuck it looked as if they were going to battle until the very end. As the battle heated up, Kyle looked to gain ground on the outside line in turn one, which was changed earlier in the week, and the new jump caused him to nose into the landing sending him into a violent cartwheel that ended with him landing on a retaining fence effectively finishing his race. When the checkers came out, Carl Renezeder grabbed the win to become the only repeat winner of the prestigious Lucas Oil Challenge Cup. He was followed by Rob MaCachren in second and Ryan Beat who was filling in for Carey Hart in the eBay motors/Hart & Huntington machine.

Team Associated has been "The Official RC Cars" of the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series since the season began in 2009 and we have had a wonderful time being part of the greatest show on dirt. We have seen amazing growth in the L.O.O.R.R.S. over that time, from new venues to new sponsors, the series and sport of short course off road racing has gained a lot of momentum and we are proud to be a part of it. Thank you to the Lucas Oil staff, track crew, fellow sponsors and vendors, but most importantly the fans for helping make it all possible.

A special thank you all our sponsored drivers, Carl Renezeder, Travis Coyne, Casey Currie, Robby Woods, Kyle LeDuc, Rob Naughton, Eric Barron, Chad Graham, Blake Lenk, Brooke Kawell, Carey Hart, Josh Merrell, and Ryan Beat. We appreciate all you do for us and we look forward to continuing our efforts in the 2013 season and beyond. The 2013 season will be returning to Firebird Speedway in March of 2013, but until them, check in with the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series at and Team Associated at for up to date news and info about the greatest show on dirt!

For more information, please visit: