2002 BRCA 1:10 Electric Touring Car

2002 BRCA 1:10 Electric Touring Car

September 21, 2002

Event Name: BRCA 1:10 Electric Touring Car
Event Location: Bedworth, England

Bedworth hosted the final round of the 2002 BRCA 1:10 Electric Touring Car Championship at the end of September. With the main titles already decided in favour of the Associated TC3 pairing of Craig Drescher (F1 Modified) and Oliver Jefferies (F1 Stock), this event would decide the winners of the remaining formula, plus the important "runner up" positions. Runner-up in the F1 Modified formula in particular was extremely close, with any one of four drivers capable of finishing behind Craig in the points table.

Stock Class

The stock motor class saw another dominant performance from the new 2002 Champion Oliver Jefferies, who took pole position for the A final with his Reedy-powered TC3; the only driver in the class to make nineteen laps. He held off Jason Butterfield and Simon Hamblett in the A final to complete his haul of maximum points in the championship, taking home the "F1 Stock" trophy as well as the award for Top Junior. Associated TC3 driver Mark Musgrove won the F2 Stock title.

Modified Class

It was Karl Marsden who set the pace in the modified class with his shaft-drive touring car, setting a TQ time in round one that would be good enough for pole position. Craig Drescher had to settle for third place on the starting grid, with Marc Neale (seventh) and Ian Whittingham (tenth) also placing their TC3s into the top final. Adam Rogers took eigth place overall with his Yokomo MR-4TCS.

The A final split into two battles at the start, with Karl Marsden and Andy Moore fighting for first place, and Craig Drescher and David Spashett battling over third. In the end, it took the slightest of mistakes from Karl to grant the win to Andy, while a spin from Craig handed third place to David. Adam Rogers drove well to come home in fifth place, with Marc Neale sixth and Ian Whittingham eigth.

Despite having a bad day at Bedworth, Andrew East still managed to secure the F2 Modified championship title with his Yokomo MR4-TCS, with Lee Farrer taking the F3 Modified trophy. Associated TC3 driver Anthony Potter picked up the trophy for Top Junior for the second year running.

Thanks to CML for contributing this report.