Kaerup wins RC Kongens with his B6 and B64

Kaerup wins RC Kongens with his B6 and B64

March 26, 2018

On a sunny Sunday this past weekend, RC Kongen in Søndersø near Odense hosted the final of seven rounds in their indoor winter series on EOS carpet. During the seventh round of the series, several of the best drivers in Denmark competed.

Kim Bendiksen of RC Kongen has been a pioneer in setting up new rules for the classes. One set of tires for the entire event; color-coded winglets replaced numbers to make it easier for the announcer and spectators; and a Rookie class was inserted where you can run any 1:10 scale car with no motor limit, as long as you used the control tire.

The Rookie class saw many close-fought battles all year long, with three drivers running Team Associated B6s taking turns on the top step of the podium until a driver from the 80's, Kim Aanundsen, showed up. He quickly won two races in a row, and this Sunday he took TQ again. In the finals, a few mistakes cost him the victory, as local driver Paw Mikkelsen kept the tires on the ground and won with style. Tommy Kristoffersen was strongest in his class by putting together consistent runs during the year, and with that, won his first championship with his Reedy-powered Team Associated B6.

The RC10B6 took the top four spots by drivers Tommy Kristoffersen (first place), Paw Mikkelsen (second), Jens Otto (third), and Rickie Kuttemann (fourth place).

In 4WD, Marcus Kaerup has been almost unbeatable on his home track with his Reedy-powered Team Associated B64. This Sunday he kept up the pace, but Frederik Hovgaard gave him a good run for his money in the finals, with Pelle Culmsee (Denmark's 1:8th nitro star) close behind in third.

The RC10B64/Reedy combo took three of the top five spots by drivers Marcus Kaerup (first), Mathias Douglas (fourth), and Mikke Douglas (fifth).

2WD was a hotly contested class in the winter series, and it ended up being a tight fight between son and dad, namely Marcus and Jonas Kaerup. This Sunday was all about 10-year-old Marcus. He had to TQ and win to snatch the championship away from Jonas Kaerup. Both father and son used Reedy-powered AE cars. Both in qualifying and the finals Marcus Kaerup was gone and never looked back, taking the fastest lap, fastest 5-minute run and finals. Jonas Kaerup won the last final and finished second, with Frederik Hovgaard coming home in third overall this weekend.

The RC10B6 made three of the top five places by drivers Marcus Kaerup (first), Jonas Kaerup (second), and Mathias Douglas (fourth).

Thanks to all drivers supporting the series and putting up some great drives and finals. Thanks to Soeren Jeppesen the announcer and referee, he did an awesome job all year long.

Now we look forward to the outdoor season, where RC Kongen along with a lot of different events during the year will play host a National 10th scale round.