Jared Tebo Pilots Factory Team T4 To 3rd Consecutive National Championship

Jared Tebo Pilots Factory Team T4 To 3rd Consecutive National Championship

July 22, 2005

Event Name: ROAR Offroad Modified Nationals
Event Location: R/C Madness, Enfield, CT

Located just a few miles south of the Massachusetts/Connecticut board, R/C Madness in Enfield, Conn. played host to the 2005 ROAR Offroad Modified Nationals. This year's event was shaping up to be unlike any in recent memory. The R/C Madness track is unlike any other major electric offroad race in that it's comprised of a hard base with a sand/topsoil fluff on top. This year also marked the first time in over three years that ROAR has not mandated a control tire. As posted earlier on the Associated website, an agreement among manufacturers was formed to use only one type of tire and foam for this event. As expected, the agreed parties stuck to their agreement and put on a great show for all to see.

Truck Modified

Since the debut of the RC10T4 in 2003, the Team Associated truck has been undefeated at the ROAR Nationals. Leading the 1-2-3 podium sweep for the T4 in the Modified Truck class was Jared Tebo followed by Reedy drivers Ryan Maifield and Dave Montgomery. From the 3rd position on the grid Jared fought clean and hard with the competition to take home the win in "A3" to tie Maifield for the overall victory. However, using the ROAR tiebreaker system Tebo was declared the Champion by virtue of his 7th place finish compared to 10th for Maifield. Rounding out the podium was Dave Montgomery whose steady finishes and racing savvy propelled him from 9th on the grid to 3rd overall.

2WD Modified

With the IFMAR World Championships only a few weeks away, all the top pros were looking for a final shakedown with their 2WDs before heading to Italy. In the first two A Mains, top qualifier Mike Truhe got out to a good lead while Ryan Cavalieri navigated his B4 around second qualifier Travis Amezcua. The race between Cavalier and Truhe was a sight to see. Both drivers were fighting for the lead; however, in the end Truhe was just able to edge out Cavalier for the win in both A and A2. In the third leg, teammates Cavalier and Maifield distanced themselves from the field by the three-minute mark. A slight bobble by Cavalier gave Maifield the win in "A3" and secured the final podium spot for the Reedy driver.

4WD Modified

Over the past two years the 4WD class has evolved from a single manufacturer showcase to a highly competitive class that was comprised of four different chassis designs. Taking the TQ was J-Concepts/ Associated/ Reedy-sponsored driver Ryan Maifield driving the BJ4. In the main events, the battle for the national championship was between Maifield and Greg Hodapp. In the end, with two first place finishes, Greg took the overall win with Maifield finishing second and Mike Truhe in third.